Aerial panorama of Providence skyline at night

DRIVE EV

Driving Rhode Island to Vehicle Electrification

DRIVE EV is an electric vehicle (EV) project administered through a partnership between the Rhode Island Office of Energy Resources (OER) and the Rhode Island Infrastructure Bank (RIIB). This project provides rebates to Rhode Island residents, small businesses, non-profits, and public sector entities to advance our clean transportation objectives in reducing transportation emissions and advancing Act on Climate.

DRIVE EV INDIVIDUAL

  • RI residents only
  • Up to $1,500 for qualified new battery and fuel cell electric vehicles (BEVs and FCEVs)
    • Rebates also available for plug-in hybrids (PHEVs) and used electric vehicles (EVs)
    • Restrictions apply
      • Vehicles must be purchased at a licensed RI Automobile Dealership or at a qualified Out-Of-State (OOS) dealership
        • Vehicles purchased from ANY licensed RI Automobile Dealership are eligible for the DRIVE EV Program
        • List of Qualifying Out-Of-State Dealerships
      • Vehicles must be registered in RI to qualify
      • Full 7% sales tax associated with the purchase of the vehicle must be remitted to Rhode Island.
  • Submit your online application and supporting documents within 120 days of purchase/lease
  • Vehicles must have been purchased or leased on or after July 7, 2022      

DRIVE+

  • Up to additional $1,500 rebate based on income-eligibility
  • Demonstrate participation in a qualifying state or federal program OR complete and sign Self-Attestation Form of Income
Apply Now*

* This application is for DRIVE EV and DRIVE+ applicants

DRIVE EV FLEET

  • RI Small Businesses, Nonprofits and Public Sector Entities only
  • Up to $1,500 for qualified new battery and fuel cell electric vehicles (BEVs and FCEVs)
    • Rebates also available for used electric vehicles (EVs)
    • Restrictions apply
      • Vehicles must be purchased at a licensed RI Automobile Dealership or at a qualified Out-Of-State (OOS) dealership
        • Vehicles purchased from ANY licensed RI Automobile Dealership are eligible for the DRIVE EV Program
        • List of Qualifying Out-Of-State Dealerships
      • Vehicles must be registered in RI to qualify
      • Full 7% sales tax associated with the purchase of the vehicle must be remitted to Rhode Island.
  • Submit your online application (up to 5 vehicles at a time) and supporting documents within 120 days of purchase/lease
  • Vehicles must have been purchased or leased on or after July 7, 2022   
  • Extra $500 rebate per vehicle for applicants located in high-asthma municipalities
Apply Now