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Introduction 

Driving Rhode Island to Vehicle Electrification DRIVEEV is an electric vehicle (EV) rebate 

program administered by the Rhode Island Office of Energy Resources (OER) to support 

adoption of electric vehicles by Rhode Island residents, small-businesses, non-profits, and public 

sectors. 

 

OER is the lead state agency for energy policy and programs with a mission to lead the state 

toward a clean, affordable, reliable, and equitable energy future. OER develops policies and 

programs that respond to the state's evolving energy needs while advancing environmental 

sustainability, energy security, and a vibrant clean energy economy. OER is committed to 

working with public- and private-sector stakeholders to ensure that all Rhode Islanders have 

access to cost-effective, resilient, and sustainable energy solutions. 

 

The adoption of sustainable transportation solutions, such as electric vehicles for commuters and 

fleets, is crucial to Rhode Island’s fight against climate change and achieving the greenhouse gas 

(GHG) emissions reduction goals mandated by the 2021 Act on Climate. The 2021 Act on 

Climate requires a 45 percent reduction in the state’s GHG emissions below 1990 levels by 2030, 

80 percent by 2040, and net-zero GHG emissions by 2050.1 The transportation sector accounts 

for more than one-third of statewide greenhouse gas emissions.2 

 

DRIVEEV is a new program designed to accelerate the adoption of EVs by Rhode Island drivers, 

with the potential to drive important public policy goals such as: 

 

• Improve public health and air quality by reducing transportation-related air pollution 

that contributes to the formation of smog and related health effects such as asthma; 

• Reduce greenhouse gas emissions that contribute to climate change; 

• Enhance energy diversity and security; and 

• Save drivers money and promote economic growth. 

 

This Program Guidance Document details the full suite of incentive offerings through DRIVEEV 

and provides important information and instructions for those interested in applying for financial 

incentives. The Program Guidance Document may be periodically updated as needed to clarify 

project requirements and improve the program’s effectiveness. The Program Guidance 

Document, including any updates, will be posted on the DRIVEEV website at 

http://www.drive.ri.gov. 
 

 

 

 

 

1 For more information about the 2021 Act on Climate and related efforts, please visit: www.climatechange.ri.gov. 
2 According to Rhode Island’s 2017 Greenhouse Gas Emissions Inventory, the transportation sector contributed 35.5 

percent of Rhode Island’s emissions. For more information about Rhode Island’s Greenhouse Gas Inventory, please 

visit: http://www.dem.ri.gov/programs/air/ghg-emissions-inventory.php. 

http://webserver.rilin.state.ri.us/Statutes/TITLE42/42-6.2/INDEX.htm
http://www.drive.ri.gov/
http://www.climatechange.ri.gov/
http://www.dem.ri.gov/programs/air/ghg-emissions-inventory.php
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DRIVEEV Program Overview – Individual Rebates 

Funded and administered by the Rhode Island Office of Energy Resources (OER), DRIVEEV 

provides rebates of up to $1,500.00 for the purchase or lease of new battery electric vehicles 

and fuel-cell electric vehicles and up to $1,000.00 for new plug-in hybrid electric vehicles. 

 

The program also offers rebates of up to $1,000.00 for the purchase or lease of used battery 

electric vehicles and fuel-cell electric vehicle and up to $750.00 for used plug-in hybrid 

electric vehicles. 

 

DRIVEEV rebates are reserved and/or awarded on a first-come, first-served basis.3 

This program is available to Rhode Island residents who purchase or lease an electric vehicle 
from a licensed Rhode Island automobile dealership or from a qualified Out-Of-State (OOS) 
dealership**. 

* Vehicles must be purchased or leased from a qualified OOS dealership on or after August 
1st, 2023, to qualify. This modification is not retroactive to purchases made before August 1st, 
2023. 
 
**Full 7% sales tax associated with the purchase of the vehicle must be remitted to Rhode 
Island. 

Applications are available online at http://www.drive.ri.gov. 
 

From the date of vehicle purchase/lease, applicants will have one hundred and twenty (120) 

days to provide OER with all required supporting documentation, including copies of: 

 

 A valid Rhode Island registration certificate for the electric vehicle; 

 The final sales or lease agreement, including an itemization of credits, discounts, and 

incentives received (where applicable); 

 A Rhode Island driver’s license; and 

 A signed W-9 form. 
 

Importantly, if a qualified applicant does not submit all required supporting documentation 

within one hundred and twenty (120) days, as indicated above, OER will release the “reserved” 

funds back to the DRIVEEV program and a new application will need to be submitted. 

 

The DRIVEEV Program Administrator will communicate with the applicant regarding their 

application via email. It is the applicant’s responsibility to check all DRIVEEV related 

emails for status updates and requests for additional information or documents required 

to complete the application. 

 

3 Rebates will be made on a first-come, first-served basis based upon adherence to application requirements and 

http://www.drive.ri.gov./
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contingent on funding availability. OER reserves the right to extend, modify, or terminate this program based on 

funding availability and/or other factors. 

 

 

OER will review all submitted materials for completeness and to ensure the applicant meets 

all eligibility requirements. 
 

If approved, OER will award the appropriate rebate amount directly to the applicant in a 

single payment, by check, within four to six (4-6) weeks from the date of final approval.4 
 

OER reserves the right to modify the DRIVEEV program and its terms and conditions and/or 

terminate the program at its sole discretion. The submittal of an application form does not 

guarantee an award. 

 

Applicants may also be eligible to qualify for Federal Tax Credits associated with EV purchases. 

Receipt of any federal tax credits does not disqualify an eligible applicant from this state 

program. For information on federal tax incentives for electric-drive vehicles, 
visit www.fueleconomy.gov. 

 

DRIVEEV Program Requirements and Rebate Amounts 
 

New Vehicles 
Summary of Program Requirements 

• Purchase or lease a new eligible EV with an agreed upon value of the vehicle at or below 

$60,000.00*  
* $60,000.00 price cap does not include taxes, registration fees, delivery fees, and 

any capitalized cost reductions including incentives, rebates, negotiations, trade-

in allowance, cash deposits, and any other similar reductions that could be 

considered a capitalized cost reduction. 

• Purchase or lease date must be on or after 07/07/2022 

• Vehicle must be purchased or leased at a licensed Rhode Island Automobile Dealer (no 

person-to-person sales allowed), or from a dealership on the State’s list of qualified Out-Of-

State (OOS) dealerships (Exceptions may apply). 

• Vehicle must be registered with the Rhode Island Division of Motor Vehicles (DMV). 

• Applicant must be a Rhode Island resident (RI driver’s license required). 

• Submit application and all supporting documents within one hundred and twenty (120) 

days of purchase/lease. 

• One application per individual (per 48-month period).5 

For a new electric vehicle, the purchase or lease date must be on or after 07/07/2022 in order to 

be eligible for this program. Electric vehicles purchased or leased prior to this date will not 

qualify for a rebate. 

Eligible vehicles must be purchased or leased by a Rhode Island entity at a licensed Rhode 

Island automotive dealership (or at a qualified OOS dealership) and registered in Rhode Island.  

http://www.fueleconomy.gov/
https://dmv.ri.gov/
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4 Processing times may vary. 
5 Applicants will have to wait forty-eight (48) months from the date of the approved application to be eligible to reapply 

for the incentive rebate. 

Purchased vehicles (new) must have an agreed upon value of the vehicle at or below 

$60,000.00. * 

 
* $60,000.00 price cap does not include taxes, registration fees, delivery fees, and any 

capitalized cost reductions including incentives, rebates, negotiations, trade-in allowance, cash 

deposits, and any other similar reductions that could be considered a capitalized cost reduction. 

 
Leased vehicles (new) are required to have a lease term of at least twenty-four (24) months to 

qualify for the program. 
 

Effective 10/03/2023 rebate amounts for new EV purchases/leases are as follows: 

• $1,500.00 for new Battery Electric Vehicles (BEVs) or new Fuel-Cell Electric Vehicles 

(FCEVs) 

• $1,000.00 rebate for new Plug-in Hybrid Electric Vehicles (PHEVs) 
 

Used Vehicles 
Summary of Program Requirements 

• Purchase or lease a used eligible EV with an agreed upon value of the vehicle at or below 

$40,000.00* 
* $40,000.00 price cap does not include taxes, registration fees, delivery fees, and any 

capitalized cost reductions including incentives, rebates, negotiations, trade-in 

allowance, cash deposits, and any other similar reductions that could be considered a 

capitalized cost reduction. 
• Purchase or lease date must be on or after 07/07/2022 

• Vehicle must be purchased or leased at a licensed Rhode Island Automobile Dealer (no 

person-to-person sales allowed), or from a dealership on the State’s list of qualified Out-Of-

State (OOS) dealerships (Exceptions may apply). 

• Vehicle must be registered with the Rhode Island Division of Motor Vehicles (DMV). 

• Applicant must be a Rhode Island resident (RI driver’s license required). 

• Submit application and all supporting documents within one hundred and twenty (120) 

days of purchase/lease. 

• One application per individual (per 48-month period).6 
 

For a used electric vehicle, the purchase or lease date must be on or after 07/07/2022 in order to 

be eligible for this program. Electric vehicles purchased or leased prior to this date will not 

qualify for a rebate. 

Eligible vehicles must be purchased or leased by a Rhode Island entity at a licensed Rhode 

Island automotive dealership (or at a qualified OOS dealership) and registered in Rhode Island. 
 

Purchased vehicles (used) must have an agreed upon value of the vehicle at or below 

https://dmv.ri.gov/
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$40,000.00.*  

6 Applicants will have to wait forty-eight (48) months from the date of the approved application to be eligible to reapply 

for the incentive rebate. 
 * $40,000.00 price cap does not include taxes, registration fees, delivery fees, and any capitalized 

cost reductions including incentives, rebates, negotiations, trade-in allowance, cash deposits, and any 

other similar reductions that could be considered a capitalized cost reduction. 

Leased vehicles (used) are required to have a lease term of at least twenty-four (24) months to 

qualify for the program. 
 

Effective 10/03/2023 rebate amounts for used EV purchases/leases are as follows: 

• $1,000.00 for used Battery Electric Vehicles (BEVs) or used Fuel-Cell Electric 

Vehicles (FCEVs). 

• $750.00 for used Plug-in Hybrid Electric Vehicles (PHEVs). 

 

List of Qualifying Out-Of-State dealerships**: 
• Volkswagen of North Attleboro - 563 Kelley Blvd #152, North Attleborough, MA 02760 

• Boch Nissan South - 685 S Washington St, North Attleborough, MA 02760 

• Boch Toyota South - 620 S Washington St, North Attleborough, MA 02760 

• Patriot Subaru of North Attleboro - 551 S Washington St, North Attleborough, MA 02760 

• Kia of Attleboro - 795 Newport Ave South Attleboro, MA 02703 

• Stateline Subaru - 1451 Brayton Point Rd, Somerset, MA 02725 

• Courtesy Mitsubishi - 11 Scott St, Attleboro, MA 02703 

• Milford Nissan – 320 East Main St, Milford MA 01757 

• Bob Valenti Chevrolet - 72 Jerry Browne Rd, Mystic, CT 06355 

• Copeland Chevrolet - 955 Pearl St, Brockton, MA 02301 

 

* If the dealership is not listed here, please make sure to contact us directly. Exceptions may be made 

on a case-by-case basis. OER cannot guarantee rebates will be approved from dealerships not on 

this list. Vehicles must be purchased or leased on or after August 1, 2023, to qualify. This 

modification is not retroactive to purchases made before August 1, 2023. 

 

**Full 7% sales tax associated with the purchase of the vehicle must be remitted to Rhode Island. 
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Vehicle Eligibility:   
To be eligible for a DRIVEEV rebate, the electric vehicle must be at or below the agreed upon value 

of the vehicle cap of $60,000.00* for new vehicles, and $40,000.00† for used vehicles. In addition, 

the full 7% sales tax associated with the purchase of the vehicle must be remitted to Rhode Island, 

including out of state purchases. 

 

Please contact the Program Administrator at 401-574-9117, or Energy.DriveEV@energy.ri.gov 

if you have any questions about vehicle eligibility prior to purchasing/leasing an EV. 

 
* $60,000.00 price cap does not include taxes, registration fees, delivery fees, and any capitalized 

cost reductions including incentives, rebates, negotiations, trade-in allowance, cash deposits, and 
any other similar reductions that could be considered a capitalized cost reduction. 

 
† $40,000.00 price cap does not include taxes, registration fees, delivery fees, and any capitalized 

cost reductions including incentives, rebates, negotiations, trade-in allowance, cash deposits, and 

any other similar reductions that could be considered a capitalized cost reduction. 

Vehicles not eligible for DRIVEEV 

• Aftermarket plug-in hybrid electric and battery electric vehicle conversions; 

• Electric scooters, all-terrain vehicles (ATVs), electric bicycles, and electric busses; 

• Neighborhood Electric Vehicles (NEVs)7 or Low-Speed Vehicles (LSPs)8; and 

• Zero-Emission Motorcycles (ZEMs).  

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

7 NEVs are defined as four-wheeled electric vehicles that have a maximum speed greater than 20 miles per hour 

(mph) but not more than 25 mph. 
8 LSPs are defined as low-speed electric vehicles that have a maximum speed greater than 25 miles per hour (mph) 

but not more than 45 mph

mailto:Energy.DriveEV@energy.ri.gov
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DRIVEEV Application Process 

The DRIVEEV application is available on-line at www.drive.ri.gov. If you do not have access 

to the internet and would like a hard copy application mailed to you, please contact the 

Program Administrator at (401) 574-9117. 
 
Applicants may apply for a rebate after purchasing a vehicle. 
 

The applicant must submit an application online at www.drive.ri.gov. From the date of 
purchase or lease, the applicant will have one hundred and twenty (120) days to apply 
and submit all required supporting documentation as specified on the DRIVEEV application 
and in this Program Guidance Document. 

 

If the applicant does not submit all required support documentation within one hundred and 

twenty (120) days, as indicated above, OER will release the “reserved” rebate funds back to 

the DRIVEEV program and the applicant will need to submit a new application. 

 

DRIVEEV Required Supporting Documentation 
 

DRIVEEV applicants must submit copies of the following supporting documents with the post- 
purchase application: 

 A copy of the applicant’s Rhode Island driver’s license; 

 A copy of a completed and signed W-9 form, available at https://www.irs.gov/pub/irs- 
pdf/fw9.pdf; 

 A copy of the Rhode Island registration for the electric vehicle; and 
 A copy of the signed and executed sales or lease contract (with an itemization of credits, 

discounts and incentives received). 
 

Following receipt of applications, and all supporting documentation: 

 

OER will issue the appropriate level of rebate on a first-come, first-served basis based upon the 

application’s position in the rebate queue.  

 

Failure to comply with all stated program requirements may result in denial and/or removal of 

an application. OER reserves the right to request additional supporting documentation, as 

necessary, to verify eligibility. 

http://www.drive.ri.gov/
http://www.drive.ri.gov/
https://www.irs.gov/pub/irs-pdf/fw9.pdf
https://www.irs.gov/pub/irs-pdf/fw9.pdf
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DRIVE+ Program Overview – Individual Rebates 

DRIVE+ provides additional incentives of up to $1,500.00 for qualified Rhode Islanders who 

purchase or lease an eligible electric vehicle and meet certain income requirements. 
 

Effective 10/03/2023 the rebate for DRIVE+ is as follows: 

 

• $1,500.00 for the purchase/lease of new battery electric vehicles (BEVs) and fuel- 

cell electric vehicles (FCEVs); 

 

• $1,000.00 for the purchase/lease of new plug-in hybrid electric vehicles (PHEVs); 

 

• $1,500.00 for the purchase/lease of used battery electric vehicles (BEVs) and fuel- 

cell electric vehicles (FCEVs); and 

 

• $750.00 for the purchase/lease of used plug-in hybrid electric vehicles (PHEVs). 

 

DRIVE+ rebates are contingent upon availability of funds. Incentives are reserved and/or 

awarded on a first-come, first-served basis.9 

 

To qualify for the DRIVE+ rebate, applicants must participate in a State or Federal income- 

qualified program OR submit the Self-Attestation Form of Income (attached to the application) 

for those applicants who do not participate in an income-qualified program but meet the 

income-eligibility requirements highlighted below. 

 
This program is available to Rhode Island residents who purchase or lease a qualifying vehicle 
from a licensed Rhode Island automobile dealership or from a qualified Out-Of-State (OOS) 
dealership. Applications are available online at www.drive.ri.gov. 

 

From the date of vehicle purchase/lease, applicants will have one hundred and twenty (120) 

days to provide OER with all required supporting documentation, including copies of: 

 

 A valid Rhode Island registration certificate for the electric vehicle; 

 The final sales or lease agreement, including an itemization of credits, discounts, and 

incentives received (where applicable); 

 Proof of participation on a State or Federal Income-qualified program; or complete/sign 

the Self-Attestation Form of Income (attached to the application) 

 A Rhode Island driver’s license; and 

 A signed W-9 form. 

Importantly, if a qualified applicant does not submit all required supporting documentation 

9 Rebates will be made on a first-come, first-served basis based upon adherence to application requirements and 

contingent on funding availability. OER reserves the right to extend, modify, or terminate this program based on 

funding availability and/or other factors. 

http://www.drive.ri.gov/
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within one hundred and twenty (120) days, as indicated above, OER will release the “reserved” 

funds back to the DRIVE+ program and a new application will need to be submitted. 

 

The DRIVE+ Program Administrator will communicate with the applicant regarding their 

application via email. It is the applicant’s responsibility to check all DRIVE+ related emails 

for status updates and requests for additional information or documents required to 

complete the application. 

 

OER will review all submitted materials for completeness and to ensure the applicant meets 

all eligibility requirements. 
 

If approved, OER will award the appropriate rebate amount directly to the applicant in a 

single payment, by check, within four to six (4-6) weeks from the date of final approval.10 

 

OER reserves the right to modify the DRIVE+ program and its terms and conditions and/or 

terminate the program at its sole discretion. The submittal of an application form does not 

guarantee an award. 

 

Applicants may also be eligible to qualify for Federal Tax Credits associated with EV purchases. 

Receipt of any federal tax credits does not disqualify an eligible applicant from this state 

program. For information on federal tax incentives for electric-drive vehicles, 
visit www.fueleconomy.gov. 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

10 Processing times may vary. 

http://www.fueleconomy.gov/
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DRIVE+ Rebate Breakdown 

The DRIVE+ program allows qualified Rhode Island residents to receive both a base 

program rebate and an enhanced, income-eligible rebate, as show in the chart below: 
 

 

NEW VEHICLES DRIVEEV Rebate DRIVE+ Rebate Total Rebate 

Amount 

Fuel Cell Electric 

Vehicle (FCEV) 
$1,500.00 $1,500.00 $3,000.00 

Battery Electric Vehicle 

(BEV) 
$1,500.00 $1,500.00 $3,000.00 

Plug-In Hybrid Electric 

Vehicle (PHEV) 
$1,000.00 $1,000.00 $2,000.00 

 

USED VEHICLES DRIVEEV Rebate DRIVE+ Rebate Total Rebate 
Amount 

Fuel Cell Electric 

Vehicle (FCEV) 
$1,000.00 $1,500.00 $2,500.00 

Battery Electric Vehicle 

(BEV) 
$1,000.00 $1,500.00 $2,500.00 

Plug-In Hybrid Electric 

Vehicle (PHEV) 
$750.00 $750.00 $1,500.00 

 

DRIVE+ Program Eligibility Requirements 

 
To qualify for the DRIVE+ rebate, applicants must participate in a State or Federal income- 

qualified program OR submit a self-attestation form of income for those applicants who do not 

participate in an income-qualified program but meet the income-eligibility requirements 

highlighted below. 

 

List of Qualifying State or Federal Low- Income Programs in RI11: 
1. Weatherization Assistance Program (WAP) 

2. Low Income Home Energy Assistance Program (LIHEAP) 

3. Supplemental Nutrition Assistance Program (SNAP) 

4. RI Works Program 

5. SSI State Supplemental Payment (SSP) 

6. Medicaid 

7. Housing Program/Section 8 

 

Applicants who participate in one (or more) of the income-qualified programs highlighted 

above must submit a document that, at minimum, provides: 
 

11 If you participate on a State or Federal income-eligible program not listed, please contact the Program Administrator, at 

Energy.DriveEV@energy.ri.gov, or 401-574-9117. 

mailto:Energy.DriveEV@energy.ri.gov
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1. Applicant name; 

2. Name of the qualifying program (see list); 

3. The government entity or the managed care organization that issued 

document; and 

4. An issue date within the last 12 months or a future expiration date beyond the 

date of the DRIVE+ application and approval. 

 

Self-Attestation Form of Income 

If you do not participate in a State or Federal Income-Qualified program, you may still qualify 

for the DRIVE+ rebate program by submitting a self-attestation of income form based on the 

2022 Low-Income Guidelines12 

 
Household Size 12 Month 3 Month 1 Month 

1 $33,645 $8,411 $2,804 

2 $43,997 $10,999 $3,666 

3 $54,350 $13,588 $4,529 

4 $64,702 $16,176 $5,392 

5 $75,054 $18,764 $6,255 

6 $85,407 $21,352 $7,117 

7 $87,348 $21,837 $7,279 

8 $89,289 $22,322 $7,441 

9 $91,230 $22,808 $7,603 

10 $93,171 $23,293 $7,764 

11 $95,112 $23.778 $7,926 

12 $97,053 $24,263 $8,088 

The applicant must understand that any false statement made in the submitted information 

may be punishable as under Rhode Island Law, and in accordance with any applicable 

statute. 
 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

12 Income Guidelines are based upon State Median Income calculations with a calculation methodology. DRIVE+ used the Low- Income 

Guidelines provided by the Department of Human Services FFY 2022 Low Income Guidelines | RI Department of Human Services. OER 

reserves the right to modify, or terminate this program based uponfunding availability and/or other factors. 

https://dhs.ri.gov/programs-and-services/energy-assistance-programs/ffy-2022-low-income-guidelines
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DRIVE+ Program Requirements and Rebate Amounts 

 
New Vehicles 

 

Summary of Program Requirements 

 

• Purchase or lease a new eligible EV with an agreed upon value of the vehicle at or below 

$60,000.00* 
* $60,000.00 price cap does not include taxes, registration fees, delivery fees, and any 

capitalized cost reductions including incentives, rebates, negotiations, trade-in 

allowance, cash deposits, and any other similar reductions that could be considered a 

capitalized cost reduction. 
• Purchase or lease date must be on or after 07/07/2022 

• Vehicle must be purchased or leased at a licensed Rhode Island Automobile Dealer (no 

person-to-person sales allowed), or from a dealership on the State’s list of qualified 

Out-Of-State (OOS) dealerships (Exceptions may apply). 

• Vehicle must be registered with the Rhode Island Division of Motor Vehicles (DMV). 

• Applicant must be a Rhode Island resident (RI driver’s license required). 

• Proof of participation on a State or Federal Income-qualified program; or complete/sign 

the Self-Attestation Form of Income (attached to the application) 

• Submit application and all supporting documents within one hundred and twenty (120) 

days of purchase/lease. 

• One application per individual (per 48-month period).13 
 

For a new electric vehicle, the purchase or lease date must be on or after 07/07/2022 in order to 

be eligible for this program. Electric vehicles purchased or leased prior to this date will not 

qualify for a rebate. 

 
Eligible vehicles must be purchased or leased by a Rhode Island entity at a licensed Rhode 

Island automotive dealership or at a qualified OOS dealership and registered in Rhode Island. 

 
Purchased vehicles (new) must have an agreed upon value of the vehicle at or below 

$60,000.00.* 

 
* $60,000.00 price cap does not include taxes, registration fees, delivery fees, and any 

capitalized cost reductions including incentives, rebates, negotiations, trade-in allowance, cash 

deposits, and any other similar reductions that could be considered a capitalized cost reduction. 

Leased vehicles (new) are required to have a lease term of at least twenty-four (24) months to 

qualify for the program. 
 

13 Applicants will have to wait forty-eight (48) months from the date of the approved application to be eligible to reapply for the incentive 

rebate.

https://dmv.ri.gov/
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Effective 10/03/2023, rebate amounts for new EV purchases/leases are as follows: 

 
• $1,500.00 for new Battery Electric Vehicles (BEVs) or new Fuel-Cell Electric Vehicles 

(FCEVs) 

• $1,000.00 rebate for new Plug-in Hybrid Electric Vehicles (PHEVs) 

 

Used Vehicles 

 
Summary of Program Requirements 

• Purchase or lease a used eligible EV with an agreed upon value of the vehicle at or below 

$40,000.00* 
* $40,000.00 price cap does not include taxes, registration fees, delivery fees, and any 

capitalized cost reductions including incentives, rebates, negotiations, trade-in 

allowance, cash deposits, and any other similar reductions that could be considered a 

capitalized cost reduction. 
• Purchase or lease date must be on or after 07/07/2022 

• Vehicle must be purchased or leased at a licensed Rhode Island Automobile Dealer (no 

person-to-person sales allowed), or from a dealership on the State’s list of qualified Out-Of-

State (OOS) dealerships (Exceptions may apply). 

• Vehicle must be registered with the Rhode Island Division of Motor Vehicles (DMV). 

• Applicant must be a Rhode Island resident (RI driver’s license required). 

• Proof of participation on a State or Federal Income-qualified program; or complete/sign 

the Self-Attestation Form of Income (attached to the application) 

• Submit application and all supporting documents within one hundred and twenty (120) 

days of purchase/lease. 

• One application per individual (per 48-month period).14 
 

For a used electric vehicle, the purchase or lease date must be on or after 07/07/2022 in order to 

be eligible for this program. Electric vehicles purchased or leased prior to this date will not 

qualify for a rebate. 
 

Eligible vehicles must be purchased or leased by a Rhode Island entity at a licensed Rhode 

Island automotive dealership or at a qualified OOS dealership and registered in Rhode Island. 
 

Purchased vehicles (used) must have an agreed upon value of the vehicle at or below 

$40,000.00.* 

 
* $40,000.00 price cap does not include taxes, registration fees, delivery fees, and any 

capitalized cost reductions including incentives, rebates, negotiations, trade-in allowance, cash 

deposits, and any other similar reductions that could be considered a capitalized cost reduction. 
 

14 Applicants will have to wait forty-eight (48) months from the date of the approved application to be eligible to reapply for the incentive 

rebate

https://dmv.ri.gov/
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Leased vehicles (used) are required to have a lease term of at least twenty-four (24) months to 

qualify for the program. 
 

Effective 10/03/2023 rebate amounts for used EV purchases/leases are as follows: 

 
• $1,000.00 for used Battery Electric Vehicles (BEVs) or used Fuel-Cell Electric 

Vehicles (FCEVs). 

• $750.00 for used Plug-in Hybrid Electric Vehicles (PHEVs). 

 

Vehicle Eligibility 
 
To be eligible for a DRIVE+ rebate, the electric vehicle must be at or below the agreed upon value 

of the vehicle cap of $60,000.00* for new vehicles, and $40,000.00† for used vehicles. In addition, 

the full 7% sales tax associated with the purchase of the vehicle must be remitted to Rhode Island, 

including out of state purchases. 

 
* $60,000.00 price cap does not include taxes, registration fees, delivery fees, and any 

capitalized cost reductions including incentives, rebates, negotiations, trade-in 

allowance, cash deposits, and any other similar reductions that could be considered a 

capitalized cost reduction. 

 
† $40,000.00 price cap does not include taxes, registration fees, delivery fees, and any 

capitalized cost reductions including incentives, rebates, negotiations, trade-in 

allowance, cash deposits, and any other similar reductions that could be considered a 

capitalized cost reduction. 
 

Please contact the Program Administrator at 401-574-9100, or Energy.DriveEV@energy.ri.gov if 

you have any questions about vehicle eligibility prior to purchasing/leasing an EV. 
 

Vehicles not eligible for DRIVE+ 

• Aftermarket plug-in hybrid electric and battery electric vehicle conversions; 

• Electric scooters, all-terrain vehicles (ATVs), electric bicycles, and electric busses; 

• Neighborhood Electric Vehicles (NEVs)15 or Low-Speed Vehicles (LSPs)16; and 

• Zero-Emission Motorcycles (ZEMs). 
 

 

 

 
 

15 NEVs are defined as four-wheeled electric vehicles that have a maximum speed greater than 20 miles per hour 

(mph) but not more than 25 mph. 
16 LSPs are defined as low-speed electric vehicles that have a maximum speed greater than 25 miles per hour (mph) 

but not more than 45 mph.

mailto:Energy.DriveEV@energy.ri.gov
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DRIVE+ Application Process 

The DRIVE+ application is available on-line at www.drive.ri.gov. If you do not have access 

to the internet and would like a hard copy application mailed to you, please contact the 

Program Administrator at (401) 574-9117. 
 
Applicants may apply for a rebate after purchasing a vehicle  

The applicant must submit an application online at www.drive.ri.gov. From the date of 

purchase or lease, the applicant will have one hundred and twenty (120) days to apply 

and submit all required supporting documentation as specified on the DRIVEEV 

application and in this Program Guidance Document. 

 

If the applicant does not submit all required support documentation within one hundred and 

twenty (120) days, as indicated above, OER will release the “reserved” rebate funds back to the 

DRIVE+ program and the applicant will need to submit a new application. 

 
 

DRIVE+ Required Supporting Documentation 
 

DRIVE+ applicants must submit copies of the following supporting documents with the post- 
purchase application: 

 A copy of the applicant’s Rhode Island driver’s license; 

 Proof of participation on a State or Federal Income-qualified program; or complete/sign 
the Self-Attestation Form of Income (attached to the application); 

 A copy of a completed and signed W-9 form, available at https://www.irs.gov/pub/irs- 
pdf/fw9.pdf; 

 A copy of the Rhode Island registration for the electric vehicle; and 
 A copy of the signed and executed sales or lease contract (with an itemization of credits, 

discounts and incentives received). 
 

Following receipt of application, and all supporting documentation: 

 

OER will issue the appropriate level of rebate on a first-come, first-served basis based upon the 

application’s position in the rebate queue.  

 

Failure to comply with all stated program requirements may result in denial and/or removal of 

an application. OER reserves the right to request additional supporting documentation, as 

necessary, to verify eligibility. 

http://www.drive.ri.gov/
http://www.drive.ri.gov/
https://www.irs.gov/pub/irs-pdf/fw9.pdf
https://www.irs.gov/pub/irs-pdf/fw9.pdf
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DRIVEEV FLEET Program Overview 

DRIVEEV FLEET provides EV rebates for qualified small businesses, non-profits, and public 

sector entities, as follows: 

 

• $1,500.00 for new Battery Electric Vehicles (BEVs) or New Fuel-Cell Electric 

Vehicles (FCEVs); and 

 

• $1,000.00 for used Battery Electric Vehicles (BEVs) or used Fuel-Cell Electric 

Vehicles (FCEVs); 

 
Qualified entities may submit an application(s) for up to five (5) vehicles every twenty-four 

(24) months. 

 

Qualified entities for the DRIVEEV FLEET program are defined as follows: 

• RI Small-Businesses17 (defined as firms employing fewer than 500 employees – Per 

SBA.GOV definition) 

• RI Non-Profits 18 

• RI Public-Sector entities (e.g., State, Quasi-State, and municipal agencies; school 

districts and public libraries) 
 
Qualified entities may be eligible for an additional $500.00 rebate if located within these 
municipalities with the highest asthma rates due to traffic exposure, as defined by the Rhode 
Island Department of Health19: 

1. Central Falls 
2. Cranston 
3. East Providence 
4. Pawtucket 
5. Providence 

 

Applications for DRIVEEV FLEET are available online at www.drive.ri.gov 
 

From the date of purchase/lease, applicants will then have one hundred and twenty (120) days 

to provide OER with all required supporting documentation, including copies of a valid Rhode 

Island registration certificate for the electric vehicle; the final sales or lease contract, including an 

itemization of credits, discounts, and incentives received (if applicable); a copy of a local 

business license, articles of incorporation, articles of organization, statement of information, 

or other formation documents filed with the Rhode Island Secretary of State, or other; and a 

signed W-9 form. 
 

Importantly, if a qualified applicant does not submit all required support documentation within 

one hundred and twenty (120) days, as indicated above, OER will release the “reserved” 
 

17 Small businesses are defined as firms employing fewer than 500 employees – Per SBA.GOV definition 
18 RI Non-Profits are defined as 501(c)(3) organizations, which means they are formed for religious, charitable, 

scientific, literary, or educational purposes and are eligible for federal and state tax exemptions. 
19 The traffic data comes from EPA EJScreen. Information provided by RIDOH. OER reserves the right to modify the list at any 

time based on new data provided by RIDOH. 

https://www.sba.gov/sites/default/files/2020-10/AFFILIATION%20GUIDE_Updated%20%28004%29-508.pdf
http://www.drive.ri.gov/
https://www.sba.gov/sites/default/files/2020-10/AFFILIATION%20GUIDE_Updated%20%28004%29-508.pdf
https://www.sos.ri.gov/divisions/business-services/non-profit/business-basics/
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rebate funds back to the DRIVEEV FLEET program and a new application will need to be 

submitted. 

 

The DRIVEEV FLEET Program Administrator will communicate with the applicant regarding 

their application via email. It is the applicant’s responsibility to check all DRIVEEV FLEET 

related emails for status updates and requests for additional information or documents 

required to complete the application. 

 

OER will review all submitted materials for completeness and to ensure the applicant meets 

all eligibility requirements. If approved, OER will award the appropriate rebate amount 

directly to the applicant in a single payment by check within four to six (4-6) weeks from the 

date of final approval.20 

 

OER reserves the right to modify the DRIVEEV FLEET program and its terms and conditions 

and/or terminate the program at its sole discretion. The submittal of a rebate application form 

does not guarantee award. 
 

Applicants may also be eligible to qualify for Federal Tax Credits associated with EV purchases. 

Receipt of any federal tax credits does not disqualify an eligible applicant from this state 

program. For information on federal tax incentives for electric-drive vehicles, 
visit www.fueleconomy.gov. 

 

DRIVEEV FLEET Program Requirements and Rebates Amount 
 

New Vehicles 

Summary of Program Requirements 

• Purchase or lease a new eligible EV with an agreed upon value of the vehicle at or below 

$60,000.00* 
* $60,000.00 price cap does not include taxes, registration fees, delivery fees, and 

any capitalized cost reductions including incentives, rebates, negotiations, trade-

in allowance, cash deposits, and any other similar reductions that could be 

considered a capitalized cost reduction. 

• Purchase or lease date must be on or after 07/07/2022 

• Vehicle must be purchased or leased at a licensed Rhode Island Automobile Dealer (no 

person-to-person sales allowed), or from a dealership on the State’s list of qualified 

Out-Of-State (OOS) dealerships (Exceptions may apply). 

• Vehicle must be registered with the Rhode Island Division of Motor Vehicles (DMV). 

• Entity must be registered to do business in Rhode Island (proof of registration will be 

required with the exemption of Public Sector entities). 

• Submit application and all supporting documents within one hundred and twenty (120) 

days of purchase/lease. 

• One application up to 5 vehicles (per 24-month period).21 
 
 

20 Processing times may vary. 
21 Applicants will have to wait twenty-four months to reapply for the program 

http://www.fueleconomy.gov/
https://dmv.ri.gov/
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For a new electric vehicle, the purchase or lease date must be on or after 07/07/2022 in order to 

be eligible for this program. Electric vehicles purchased or leased prior to this date will not 

qualify for a rebate. 
 

Eligible vehicles must be purchased or leased by a Rhode Island entity at a licensed Rhode Island automotive 

dealership or at a qualified OOS dealership and registered in Rhode Island. 
 

Purchased vehicles (new) must have an agreed upon value of the vehicle at or below 

$60,000.00.* 

 
* $60,000.00 price cap does not include taxes, registration fees, delivery fees, and any 

capitalized cost reductions including incentives, rebates, negotiations, trade-in 

allowance, cash deposits, and any other similar reductions that could be considered a 

capitalized cost reduction. 
 

Leased vehicles (new) are required to have a lease term of at least twenty-four (24) months to 

qualify for the program. 
 

Effective 10/03/2023, rebate amounts for new EV purchases/leases are as follows: 
 

• $1,500.00 for new Battery Electric Vehicles (BEVs) or new Fuel-Cell Electric Vehicles 

(FCEVs) 

 

Used Vehicles 
Summary of Program Requirements 

• Purchase or lease a used eligible EV with an agreed upon value of the vehicle at or below 

$40,000.00* 
* $40,000.00 price cap does not include taxes, registration fees, delivery fees, and 

any capitalized cost reductions including incentives, rebates, negotiations, trade-

in allowance, cash deposits, and any other similar reductions that could be 

considered a capitalized cost reduction. 

• Purchase or lease date must be on or after 07/07/2022 

• Vehicle must be purchased or leased at a licensed Rhode Island Automobile Dealer (no 

person-to-person sales allowed), or from a dealership on the State’s list of qualified Out-Of-

State (OOS) dealerships (Exceptions may apply). 

• Vehicle must be registered with the Rhode Island Division of Motor Vehicles (DMV). 

• Entity must be registered to do business in Rhode Island (proof of registration will be 

required with the exemption of Public Sector entities). 

• Submit application and all supporting documents within one hundred and twenty (120) 

days of purchase/lease. 

• One application up to 5 vehicles (per 24-month period).22 

For a used electric vehicle, the purchase or lease date must be on or after 07/07/2022 in order to 

be eligible for this program. Electric vehicles purchased or leased prior to this date will not 

qualify for a rebate.  
 

22 Applicants will have to wait twenty-four months to reapply for the program 

 

https://dmv.ri.gov/
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Eligible vehicles must be purchased or leased by a Rhode Island entity at a licensed Rhode 

Island automotive dealership or at a qualified OOS dealership and registered in Rhode Island. 

 
Purchased vehicles (used) must have an agreed upon value of the vehicle at or below 

$40,000.00.* 

 
* $40,000.00 price cap does not include taxes, registration fees, delivery fees, and any 

capitalized cost reductions including incentives, rebates, negotiations, trade-in 

allowance, cash deposits, and any other similar reductions that could be considered a 

capitalized cost reduction. 
 

Leased vehicles (used) are required to have a lease term of at least twenty-four (24) months to 

qualify for the program. 
 

Effective 10/03/2023 rebate amounts for used EV purchases/leases are as follows: 
 

• $1,000.00 for used Battery Electric Vehicles (BEVs) or used Fuel-Cell Electric 

Vehicles (FCEVs). 

Vehicle Eligibility 
 
To be eligible for the DRIVEEV FLEET rebate, the electric vehicle must be at or below the 

agreed upon value of the vehicle cap of $60,000.00* for new vehicles, and $40,000.00† for used 

vehicles. In addition, the full 7% sales tax associated with the purchase of the vehicle must be 

remitted to Rhode Island, including out of state purchases. 

 
* $60,000.00 price cap does not include taxes, registration fees, delivery fees, and any 

capitalized cost reductions including incentives, rebates, negotiations, trade-in 

allowance, cash deposits, and any other similar reductions that could be considered a 

capitalized cost reduction. 

 
† $40,000.00 price cap does not include taxes, registration fees, delivery fees, and any 

capitalized cost reductions including incentives, rebates, negotiations, trade-in 

allowance, cash deposits, and any other similar reductions that could be considered a 

capitalized cost reduction. 

 
Please contact the Program Administrator at 401-574-9117, or Energy.DriveEV@energy.ri.gov 

if you have any questions about vehicle eligibility prior to purchasing/leasing an EV. 
 

Vehicles not eligible for DRIVEEV FLEET 

• Aftermarket plug-in hybrid electric and battery electric vehicle conversions; 

• Electric scooters, all-terrain vehicles (ATVs), electric bicycles, and electric busses; 

• Neighborhood Electric Vehicles (NEVs)23 or Low-Speed Vehicles (LSPs)24; and 

• Zero-Emission Motorcycles (ZEMs). 

 

 

mailto:Energy.DriveEV@energy.ri.gov
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23 NEVs are defined as four-wheeled electric vehicles that have a maximum speed greater than 20 miles per hour 

(mph) but not more than 25 mph. 
24 LSPs are defined as low-speed electric vehicles that have a maximum speed greater than 25 miles per hour (mph) 

but not more than 45 mph. 

 

List of Qualifying Out-Of-State dealerships**: 
• Volkswagen of North Attleboro - 563 Kelley Blvd #152, North Attleborough, MA 02760 

• Boch Nissan South - 685 S Washington St, North Attleborough, MA 02760 

• Boch Toyota South - 620 S Washington St, North Attleborough, MA 02760 

• Patriot Subaru of North Attleboro - 551 S Washington St, North Attleborough, MA 02760 

• Kia of Attleboro - 795 Newport Ave South Attleboro, MA 02703 

• Stateline Subaru - 1451 Brayton Point Rd, Somerset, MA 02725 

• Courtesy Mitsubishi - 11 Scott St, Attleboro, MA 02703 

• Milford Nissan – 320 East Main St, Milford MA 01757 

• Bob Valenti Chevrolet - 72 Jerry Browne Rd, Mystic, CT 06355 

• Copeland Chevrolet - 955 Pearl St, Brockton, MA 02301 

* If the dealership is not listed here, please make sure to contact us directly. Exceptions may be 

made on a case-by-case basis. OER cannot guarantee rebates will be approved from dealerships 

not on this list. Vehicles must be purchased or leased on or after August 1, 2023, to qualify. This 

modification is not retroactive to purchases made before August 1, 2023. 

 

**Full 7% sales tax associated with the purchase of the vehicle must be remitted to Rhode Island. 
 

DRIVEEV FLEET Application Process 

 
The DRIVEEV FLEET application is available on-line at www.drive.ri.gov. If you do not have 

access to the internet and would like a hard copy application mailed to you, please contact the 

Program Administrator at (401) 574-9117. 
 

The applicant must submit an application online at www.drive.ri.gov. From the date of 

purchasing or leasing the vehicle, the Rhode Island entity will have one hundred and twenty 

(120) days to apply and submit all required support documentation as specified on the DRIVEEV 

FLEET application. If the applicant does not submit all required support documentation within 

one hundred and twenty (120) days, as indicated above, OER will release the “reserved” 

rebate funds back to the DRIVEEV FLEET program and a new application will need to be 

submitted. 

 
At a minimum, DRIVEEV FLEET applicants must provide copies of the following support 
documents: 

• A copy of the Rhode Island registration for the electric vehicles; 

• A copy of the signed and executed sales or lease contract (with an itemization of credits, 
discounts and incentives received); 

• A copy of a local business license, articles of incorporation, articles of organization, 

statement of information, or other formation documents filed with the Rhode Island 

http://www.drive.ri.gov/
http://www.drive.ri.gov/
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Secretary of State, or other; and 

• A copy of a completed and signed W-9 form, available at 

https://www.irs.gov/pub/irs-pdf/fw9.pdf. 
 

OER will issue the appropriate level of rebate on a first-come, first-served basis based upon the 

application’s position in the rebate queue. 

 

Failure to comply with all stated program requirements may result in removal of an applicant’s 

application and may require the applicant to re-submit their application and/or support 

documentation; and/or result in the denial of an application by OER. OER reserves the right to 

request additional support documentation, as necessary, to verify eligibility. 
 

Contact Info 

 
For general questions and inquiries regarding the DRIVEEV Rebate Program or other clean 

transportation initiatives in Rhode Island, please contact Sara Canabarro, OER’s Clean 

Transportation Program Manager, at Sara.Canabarro@energy.ri.gov or (401) 574-9117. 

https://www.irs.gov/pub/irs-pdf/fw9.pdf
mailto:Sara.Canabarro@energy.ri.gov
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Examples of Supporting Documents 

Sample Vehicle Registration Form (TR-1 Form) 
 

http://www.dmv.ri.gov/documents/forms/registration/TR-1.pdf
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Example Purchase and Sales Agreement Form 
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Sample Rhode Island Driver’s License 
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Example of W-9 Form 
 

 

https://www.irs.gov/pub/irs-pdf/fw9.pdf
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Self-Attestation of Income Form 
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